Thanks for reading… A quick intro

17 Sep

Hello, and thank you for finding this blog.  My name is Andy Perkins, Broker/Owner of Perkins Realty Group, a small residential real estate brokerage based in Los Angeles.  My goal is to bring you some unique perspectives about the real estate market, from a Southern California perspective.  I decided to pursue a career in real estate in part because I was tired of dishonest real estate agents.  That is not to suggest that by any means real estate agents are all dishonest, but I’m sure you know (as I do) many people whose level of respect for Realtors as professionals is on par with lawyers and used car salesmen.  My hope, then, is to help buyers, owners, and sellers become more informed consumers.  Hopefully you will find what I have to say interesting, entertaining, or at least worthwhile in some fashion.  We’ll see how that goes.

I am no fan of blatant self-promotion, so it is not my intent for this blog to be all about me (really, I’m not that interesting!).  However, I do feel it is important to lay out my own story, and present my credentials, so you know where I’m coming from.  A quick “About Me” follows:

My SoCal connections. I’m a California native and UCLA graduate who has lived in the Los Angeles region (sometimes off and on) for 28 years.  Presently, I live in the San Fernando Valley with my lovely wife and a couple rather neurotic cats.  As I am sure you know, Los Angeles and its surrounding areas form an incredibly diverse—and occasionally crazy—metropolis.  The result is a region full of unique and varied opportunities, and I have spent a great deal of time seeking them out.  There are very few corners of Southern California I have not studied, visited, and absorbed.  The result is an in-depth knowledge of the real estate market that spans all of the Los Angeles region.

My professional career. After working in the commercial real estate field in Texas, I returned to California to pursue a career in the field of biomedical research administration over the course of the next twelve years.  Interestingly, there are a great deal of similarities between real estate and research administration.  In both fields, large amounts of money are at stake, and careless errors can cause serious financial damage.  Both are high-stress fields where time is absolutely of the essence and many deadlines must be met.  Both involve serious legal consequences for failure to follow through on one’s obligations.  Both require a high degree of discretion and confidentiality, and a breach of that confidence can have serious repercussions.

Two series of events precipitated my return to the real estate field.  First, while observing the hysteria of the early 2000s that ultimately led to the massive real estate crash in the latter half of the decade, I concluded that many real estate agents were helping to feed that hysteria for their own benefit (and at their clients’ expense).  I cannot tell you how many agents I heard proclaiming that everyone should “buy now or be priced out forever” (does that sound familiar?).  Second, I watched as far too many of my friends went through real estate transactions where their agent offered cringingly bad—sometimes flat-out unethical—advice.  Many of them were badly burned.  That was simply not right, and something had to be done.  At that point I decided it was time to return to real estate.  It is not easy work, but I find it to offer a great deal of personal satisfaction.

My passion for design. For as long as I can recall, I have had an appreciation of and passion for architecture.  While I was never convinced that I would be a competent architect myself, I did a great deal of college coursework relating to architecture, urban planning, and design.  I believe this gives me a unique perspective in the real estate field that your average Realtor will not have: the capacity to recognize the specific design details that give a house a certain “flow” or “feel.”  How does the house relate to its surroundings?  How did the designer create a layout that feels especially spacious?  How well does the house interact with the outdoors, and how is that accomplished?  And what can you, as a potential buyer or seller, do to embrace and showcase those positive elements?

My personal love is mid-century modern design, and I am honored to call a 1956 William Krisel-designed home my own.  One of my reasons for getting into the field of residential real estate is to put buyers in touch with a home that is a true and genuine reflection of their lifestyles and personalities.  I have watched far too many amazing houses get destroyed by insensitive remodels, and few things are as satisfying to me as seeing a unique or historically important house purchased by someone who truly appreciates its characteristics.

My personal life. When I have the fortune to take some time away from work, you can find me outdoors, enjoying Southern California’s wonderful climate: hiking, mountain biking, 4-wheeling, or simply wandering around town and taking in the sights.

3 Responses to “Thanks for reading… A quick intro”

  1. Reemo September 30, 2010 at 7:21 am #

    Hi Andy,

    I read your blog. Pretty interesting stuff.I am studying for my CA RE Exam and generally educating myself with the aid of books,webinars etc. I saw your comments on agentsonline.net and followed thru to your blog. Will I be able to find a agent who is considered investor friendly in LA County? Its my search for such a person that googled me into agenstonline.net in the first place.

    Would welcome any help if you can.

  2. Perkins Realty Group September 30, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    Hi Reemo,

    You absolutely can find an investor-friendly broker in L.A., and any wise broker would be foolish not to offer custom services to investor buyers/sellers — especially in this economy. Investor relationships offer great potential for lucrative, long-term partnerships (and often, cash transactions). Who best fits that mold will depend on what you mean by “investor-friendly” and what you envision your role in the process will be. For example, many brokers will bend over backwards for purchase/sale transactions, but will draw the line at managing those properties. Others will offer full property management services.

    If your interest is in working specifically with investment property, you will want to consider with what types of investors and what types of properties you expect to be dealing. A broker who deals primarily or exclusively in 1-4 unit residential properties would probably not be the right choice if you intend to focus on larger apartment buildings, commercial/industrial properties, or even vacant land. Larger deals can be far more complex than many agents can handle: lengthy escrow periods, difficult contracts, and often significant capital outlays on the agent’s part.

    While you can certainly find information through Google, the NAR website (www.realtor.org) also allows you to search for brokerage firms who specialize in your area of interest. Many local REALTOR® boards also offer courses and networking opportunities for agents whose emphasis is on commercial or investment properties if that is your area of interest.

    Cheers,
    Andy

  3. Reemo October 1, 2010 at 4:29 am #

    Hi Andy,

    Thanks for the great advice and info shared.I am a long way from the type of investing that you mention but I have a couple of investors who are willing to partner with me on any SFR deals that I can find here in Los Angeles. As you would know these deals could be mostly cash transactions and from what I hear most agents shy away from transactional funding etc. Hence my question, since I believe an agent would play a vital role in my investment success.

    Thanks again,

    Reemo

Leave a Reply

